Custard apple milkshake fail

June 21, 2011

For those of you lucky enough to visit Chennai during your lifetime, (god forbid during the month of May) there are a few places you must go to while in the city. One of those is Fruit Shop on Greams Road – a fresh juice and milkshake institution in Chennai. The original shop is located on Greams Road, hence the name, but branches can now be found in other parts of the city as well.

Given that this is my last week in India before heading back home to the US, I decided I’d have to pay Fruit Shop one last visit. For the last few months, since I picked up a menu and discovered a custard apple milkshake available, I’ve been dreaming of tasting one and how fitting it would be considering the name of our blog. Well tonight was the night I made my way there to order just that.

Fruit Shop now delivers so it would make sense that I just call them up and have one brought directly to my doorstep instead of walking the few kilometers there in the sweltering heat. BUT I haven’t topped up my phone and can’t make outgoing calls and there’s a 150 rupee minimum order so I couldn’t really justify buying three 50-rupee milkshakes just for myself. Well I finally got to Fruit Shop, wiped the sweat from my brow, placed my order, and then was promptly told it wasn’t possible. Custard apples are out of season!!! Apparently these milkshakes are only available in December (indicating this on the menu and preventing a poor girl from experiencing extreme disappointment would be too much to ask).

I forlornly walked home and imagined what a custard apple milkshake might taste like. Next time, I’m sticking with the standard, yet delicious chocolate…as should you.

4 Responses to “Custard apple milkshake fail”

  1. anjobanjo22 said

    Oh I’m so sorry! How disappointing!

  2. divya said

    Well come and visit us in madras in december so we can all go get that custard apple shake!:-)

  3. Hemant Kn said

    ya i stay in chennai (madras) and i know how is it may month. Even in june also its not much relief. Have to taste those custard apples though, not yet to that place. i live somewhat distance .

  4. jenny said

    We have just picked the custard apples from the tree in the garden and waiting for them to ripen, so if you want to pop over to New Zealand I will happily make you a smoothy or milkshake.

Leave a Reply

