Indian Tostadas

May 23, 2011

If someone were to ask what type of food is my favorite, I would immediately respond with “Mexican.” A very close second, however, would be Indian. So I got to thinking. Why not combine the two and make something wonderful? And that I did.

Using a variation of Rajma red kidney bean curry, I made the base for the vegetarian tostadas, which is full of spices easily acquired outside of India as well. I’m sure chicken would also be great in these, but I’m not allowed to cook meat at my house, so that took away the option. And instead of using the plain old (but also quite delicious) pico de gallo, I made mango salsa with ripe Alphonso mangoes – quite possibly the best thing about living in India. If it hadn’t been so hot this morning while I walked around the neighborhood gathering all my ingredients, I might have stopped at the store that sells avocados to make fresh guacamole as well, but I opted to just head home to my A/C.

After assembling the colorful, flavorful tostada, I didn’t really want to ruin it by eating it. Then I took one bite and the rest was history. I will definitely be making these again soon.

Serves two

Spiced red kidney beans (recipe below)
Mango salsa (recipe below)
2 Cups iceberg lettuce, coarsely chopped
1 roma tomato, diced
2 chapatis (I used the ready-made ones. You can also use whole wheat tortillas if these aren’t available.)

 

Spiced red kidney beans

2 Tbs olive oil
1 Tbs chopped fresh ginger
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 clove garlic
1/2 large green chili, chopped (optional)
1 medium tomato, diced
1 tsp salt
½ tsp ground cumin
½ tsp ground coriander
¼ tsp ground turmeric
Dash of cayenne
1 ½ Cups boiled red kidney beans or 15 oz. canned kidney beans
1 Cup water

– Heat oil in a deep saucepan over medium heat and add ginger, garlic, onion, and green chili and let sizzle for 1 minute.
– Add the diced tomato, salt, and spices and cook for 5 minutes, stirring frequently.
– Reduce heat and add kidney beans and water. Cover and simmer for 10 minutes.

Mango salsa

½ Cups ripe mango, chopped (I used Alphonso mangoes)
¼ Cup red onion, finely chopped
¼ Cup fresh cilantro, coarsely chopped
½ large green chili, chopped
¼ tsp salt
Dash of pepper
Juice from half a lime

– Place ingredients in a medium bowl and mix together. Keep in the refrigerator until tostadas are ready to assemble.

Assembling the tostada

– Heat chapatis or tortillas on a lightly oiled frying pan.
– Place chapati on a plate and layer with a generous scoop of kidney beans, lettuce, tomatoes, and mango salsa. Garnish with fresh cilantro.
– If you’re feeling even more adventurous, add a dollop of dahi (or sour cream) and some sliced avocados on top.

5 Responses to “Indian Tostadas”

  1. Cindy Peugh said

    What a way to wake up in the morning. A wonderful story and a recipe like this to think about. Again, I will have to try this.

  2. anjobanjo22 said

    OH MY GOSH!! I have always wanted to find a recipe for Mango Salsa! Yay! This looks so yummy!

  3. Uncle Glen said

    I will be gathering these ingredients to make Thursday night. Johnny is coming to town. I think we will all like these. Mango Salsa sounds good.
    Aunt Diane

  4. andy and parvin said

    sounds really delicious.This is the one I will definitely try.

  5. jenny said

    It sounds divine Lindsey, can’t wait to make it, makes my mouth water reading your recipes. Long for those Indian Mangos. Get great Pineapple from the Islands here and baby finger bananas from my own garden though so can’t complain XXX

Leave a Reply

