Fresh tomato and chicken salad

May 17, 2011

We know that this salad might not seem blog-worthy to a lot of you, but for us two, sitting here in the 95F/34C Chennai heat, with humidity levels soaring, this salad came as a welcome relief! Delving into our bag of fresh produce, bought from the local roadside vegetable stall the night before, we threw together this very simple, but refreshing and satisfying lunch. To top it all off, we picked up a fresh whole grilled chicken to liven it up a little.


Serves two (with seconds…)

6 roma tomatoes, chopped roughly

1 Cup grilled skinless, boneless chicken

Half a red onion, chopped finely

½ Cup/a few sprigs of fresh basil

Generous sprinkling of salt and pepper

Splash of balsamic vinegar

–    Throw ingredients into a large salad bowl and mix together. Simple as that!

(If at home, we might have added a few chunks of fresh mozzarella, feta or goat’s cheese, and perhaps had a nice chunky piece of French bread on the side to soak up the juices)

10 Responses to “Fresh tomato and chicken salad”

  1. Cindy Peugh said

    I am getting the ingredients today. Sounds good especially on a hot summer day. Hope our weather gets warmer and we will enjoy also.

  2. Roger said

    A chicken salad with no chicken?

  3. Roger said

    I’d call that a major oversight.

  4. Uncle Glen said

    oooooo!!!This sounds so good.

  5. Maddie said

    Looks delicious! Will you cook this for me as my housewife next week… and serve it to me after a long days work???

  6. andy and parvin said

    Looks and sounds delicious, and even I might be able to put it together!(Andy writing)

  7. Philippa said

    Hi Lindsey & Hannah!
    Thanks so much for commenting on my blog- I’m glad you liked my wedding food! My husband and I love to cook Indian food so it’s great to see your blog and recipes! Both v jealous that you’re getting to travel and try so much amazing food! x Philippa x

  8. jenny said

    Wow Lindsey,

    It sounds so good and I’m a vegetarian. Think I would exchange the chicken for Feta, Goats cheese or Halumi. I’ve just got myself cheese making kits so fingers crossed I will soon be making my own fresh cheese, miss the yummy Indian cheese, its hard to find in NZ, I will have to try make it. Take Care and enjoy your travels
    Jenny

Leave a Reply

